• Print Page Content

Our Board of Trustees          

The Hoon Hay School Board of Trustees (BOT) is made up of five elected parent representatives, a staff representative and the Principal. The Board is mainly accountable for student achievement and must provide an environment for the delivery of quality educational outcomes. Boards are there to govern the school and the Principal manages the school.

Each member of the Board of Trustees is elected for a three-year term. Our elections are held on an 18-month cycle, retaining half the board each time.

Our Board meets twice each term at 7.00pm in the School Staffroom, unless otherwise notified. A list of meeting dates for this year is available on the sub page.

The Board's role is to:
- Create a vision for the schools future alongside the Principal
- Be curriculum focused and "hands off" day to day management
- Deal with complaints and disciplinary matters referred by the Principal
- Review and approve a strategic plan each year
- Set a budget and monitor the school's financial position
- Ensure the school communicates effectively with the community
- Review the Principal's performance and management of the school
- Review and audit school policies and the Charter.

Our current Board of Trustees are:

Chairperson Shaun Cameron
  Jacqui Johnson
  Glenn Nalder
  Stuart Cooper
        Rachael Creagh
Staff Representative Penny Rule
Principal Lee McArthur

Meet the Board....

     Shaun Cameron - Chairperson
Shaun joined the Hoon Hay Board in 2013.  He is dad to four past and present Hoon Hay pupils: Jess,  Patrick and Sarah who are now both at Hillmorton; and Tabitha (year 6).  Shaun works for Ara Institute of Technology in the Trades Division, and is kept busy after school coaching netball and touch, and helping out at tennis.  In the weekends he enjoys following the kids’ various sports and getting out on his mountain bike. 

Shaun’s responsibilities on the BOT are Property and Health & Safety, which are a nice fit for his skill set and he enjoys the challenges and rewards these roles involve.  He feels privileged to be part of the collaborative and effective BOT and School team, and to have the opportunity to make a contribution to the ongoing success of Hoon Hay School.

    Lee McArthur - Principal
Lee has been Principal at Hoon Hay School for six years and thoroughly enjoys leading a team of fabulous people. It is a pleasure to be part of a vibrant and positive community that supports children to be the best they can be. We pride ourselves on being friendly, welcoming and committed to providing the very best learning opportunities for the Hoon Hay children. Out of school, Lee is a busy Mum to two teenage children and most of her time is spent happily following them around their various sporting commitments. Lee loves tennis and is a keen Australian Open fan!
    Jacqui Johnson
Jacqui is new to the Hoon Hay Board of Trustees however not new to Hoon Hay School, being a previous student herself. Jacqui has two boys currently at Hoon Hay, Nikau and Taine, with her older son, Noah, at St Thomas'.
Jacqui's time is split between running a busy family and her passion, which lies with children and their families. Jacqui is a trained social worker and is currently writing a PhD. Jacqui is also keen on travel and loves to take the family on adventures. She also enjoys running and is enthusiastic about family and friends making sure she is never too busy to  invest time into them.
Jacqui is excited at the opportunity to be able to contribute to the Hoon Hay School community and be a part of the Board of Trustees. 

Glenn Nalder 
Glenn is new to the Hoon Hay Board of Trustees in 2016.  He has two boys currently at Hoon Hay School, Tom and Lachie, and is a former pupil himself.  Glenn is a commissioned officer in the New Zealand Police where he manages Family Harm, Youth and Victim Services for the Canterbury District.  He is a member of the Canterbury District Police Leadership Team and a member of the governance group for the Canterbury Children’s Team.  In his spare time Glenn enjoys tramping, mountain biking, fishing and diving.  Glenn is committed to helping build on the already strong Hoon Hay School community, and to ensuring our children are safe, can thrive, and reach their fullest potential.
    Rachael Creagh
Rachael was elected to the board in December 2017.  Rachael has 2 children at the school, Aidan in year 5 and Sienna in year 3. 

Rachael believes the staff all do an incredible job of making Hoon Hay School a fabulous environment for children to learn and grow and is looking forward to being involved on the board and supporting the staff and pupils of Hoon Hay.

Rachael is a solicitor with MDS Law, a mid sized Christchurch firm, where she is kept busy with varied and interesting work.  In her spare time, Rachael enjoys spending time with her family and friends in the outdoors walking, mountain biking, camping and kayaking and reading a good book when she finds the time.

     Stuart Cooper
Penny Rule
- Staff Representative
Penny has been the Staff Representative on the Board for 4 terms. She is a Mighty Minnows teacher in the collaborative teaching team of  “Pirates Island on the Coral Reef” (Room 2 and 3).

She finds it a great privilege to be a member of the Board, working alongside a dedicated, hardworking team setting the strategic direction and goals, so that all children find learning an enjoyable and successful experience. She is passionate about helping children find their passion and striving to be the best that they can be.